To my friend Fernando

To my friend Fernando

Rohit

By Rohit

December 06, 2022

I have been mentally locked for a long time. Day after day waking up with a will and going to sleep with a frustration.

Today I made an unexpected little trip in the middle of the afternoon and parked at the house of my friend Eric Milfont in Porto de Galinhas - PE. He happily welcomed me with a gift: "your blog is ready!". He even gave me a cold in the belly that was soon replaced by the desire to already be able to write some text to open it.

I had nothing in mind at that time, but by finishing the last configurations of the platform, I decided to write about something random. I went to draw inspiration from something I had written about love and, as a continuous act, I opened my Facebook to search for a text I had published in 2017. That year, my dear friend, Fernando Rossi Piccin, created this incredible logo - LOVE IS ALL WE NEED - and I immediately fell in love with the idea of divulging it, creating a movement, a value mark, a line of products and texts that propagate this powerful concept that LOVE IS EVERYTHING WE NEED.

But when opening Facebook, at the top of my Feed, believe it or not, it was a post precisely from Fernando. I’ve known about his health condition for some time, but I cowered and haven’t been able to call him since I knew. I carried this guilt that came to me day yes day I no day in my head until today. Until you read his sweeping testimony about the beginning of his treatment, but above all about the magic word that unites us: love.

- Because my God?! Why couldn’t I do something as simple as calling a friend I love and giving solidarity in a difficult time?! Even though I do not diminish my guilt and my failure, I can only think that I was equally blocked, in the process of denial, of not wanting to deal with my powerlessness in the face of reality, of being a coward and not knowing what to say to it.

I started reading what he wrote and I almost couldn’t finish it. A mixture of feelings took hold of me. His text, however, is of such genuine spiritual wealth, a punch in the brain (and even in the stomach) countered by a hug in the heart at the same time, that it totally transformed my original idea for the inauguration of this blog.

Talking about the love that we share and that so much we need to value in our lives can easily find in Fernando and in this magnificent text the inspiration that we often lack. His honesty with his own feelings made me rethink and requalify my own.

I resolved by all this in words, here, without pretensions, without flourishes, only seeking to make some sense to those who have the opportunity to read it. Especially because Fernando’s text says much more than I could reproduce at this time.

I'll just say what I'm going to do as soon as I publish this here: I'm going to send it to Fernando and I'm going to call him.